If you have felt the pain of sending a message and then regretting it instantly, now you will have ample time to rethink what you just said. Facebook is introducing a new feature to its Messenger which will give users a 10-minute time to delete messages which they regret sending after pressing ‘Send.’ The unsend feature will delete the message from both sender and receiver’s feed. The company released the new feature in its latest 191.0 updates.
The company stated, “Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.” Whatsapp, on the other hand, allows the user an hour to delete messages and delete it from the recipient’s inbox as well. Messenger has been testing the ‘unsend’ option since April.
The discovery came when Facebook-owned to deleting messages from CEO Mark Zuckerberg. The reported news said that Facebook removed texts on behalf of Zuckerberg and other executives. Many messages from Zuckerberg disappeared from Messenger threads, but the replies were still there. This event was traced back to 2010 by TechCrunch. Facebook claimed that this was done for security measures in the light of 2014 Sony Pictures hack.
No matter what the reason was for the creation of the feature, it will reach user accounts with the latest version of the app. Even if you get this feature on several messaging apps, it is still better to think twice before hitting send. Else you will have only 10 minutes to take back whatever you said.